TRI HARD.. My experiences in becoming a triathlete

PLEASE DONATE TO THE LEUKEMIA AND LYMPHOMA SOCIETY! www.active.com/donate/tntnyc/snewman2

Thursday, March 30, 2006

.75 mile... and only 31.3 to go!!!

swim practice last night - we swam .75 miles! - that's 24 laps (non stop) in a 50 meter pool...

it took me about 30 min, exactly what i had estimated -- and at the end i definitely felt like i could go the extra .02 to the final .90 -- getting out of the pool, you feel completely discombobulated - almost drunk. Now think of being drunk, and soaking wet, and thinking "ok! now go find your bike!!!" -- i can't even imagine, but i'll have to in a few weeks!

so, you ask - what exactly do you do or think about when you're swimming for 30-40 minutes nonstop?.. well, at first i started thinking about my form, but that got boring fast - so i started to sing!!! "my baby may not be rich, watching every diiiiime... but he loves me, loves me, loves me, we always have a real good tiiiime... let's hear it for the boy!!!" and when that song was over "i'm a survivor, i'm not gonna give up, i'm not goin sour, i'm gonna work harder!" -- i'm my own Ipod!

during the bike, i plan to sing the entire RENT soundtrack, in 1.5 hours. And anything Brittney, Christina, or Kelly Clarkson will get me through the run!

on the fundraising front - SO CLOSE!!! i'm going up to HR now to get the forms to fill out to have HarperCollins match my donations!!! LAST MINUTE DONATIONS MUCH APPRECIATED!..
www.active.com/donate/tntnyc/snewmantnt

coming up this week: tri-gear clinic tonight, 1 hr. bike on Sat, Road Runners 10K on Sunday, and wet suit pickup!! i'm gonna look HOT in rubber!!!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home